Freshen Up Your Notepad

Freshen up Graphic TALL

I go through my things fairly regularly but I came across a notepad that I’ve had since I was 16 years old. I remember getting it from a friend along with other stationary products – proof that I’ve always been a stationary nerd.

It was tired looking though. And the stationary nerd in me doesn’t love taking notes on a pad of paper that isn’t fun or pretty. I’m one of those who, in college, took notes with two pen colors (one for writing, one for underlining and making side notes) and changed those colors daily so I would know when my class notes started and stopped per day.  I know, that’s obnoxious. And as far as the ugly notepad, I didn’t want to just toss it or recycle it so I thought I’d fix it.

I wasn’t sure what I would do at first but while I was thinking about it, I took a phone call from the doctor’s office and had to jot down a quick number on the paper I was looking at. Well guess what; I was writing fast and my handwriting was sloppy and I didn’t want to look at that (#neurotic). So I grabbed the closest thing I could to cover it up.

I had a small pile of random washi tape leftover pieces that had been trimmed off as a result of getting the right sizes for a drawer divider I was decorating. Well this little pile was just begging to be used.

So I took the little pieces and haphazardly covered up the ugly handwriting so the note page would still be inviting to write on.

customize-notepads-stationary-decorations

At first I thought, “well this will do for now” and then I started to like it. So I went after my trusty washi can.

customize-notepads-stationary-decorations

Then I went a little nuts..

customize-notepads-stationary-decorations

I covered more pages than the ones shown, but I won’t bore you with every single shot. I do want to point out, though, that some of the pages were done with decorating pens. They’re the same concept as the white out rollers you can instead of white out liquid.

They look like this:

Decoration-pens-stationary

I got mine on eBay from a friendly little seller named Hongta1755 and you can buy them here.

They’re a cute way to decorate letters, envelopes, notepaper (obvoiusly), and whatever else you get excited about. Here’s a little close up with some happy little hippos:

customize-notepads-stationary-decorations

If this project isn’t for you, it might be a fun idea for your child to grab onto. I’m kind of a child so I really dig it now.

customize-notepads-stationary-decorations

How do you deal with notepads that look a little tired?

Thanks for swingin’ by!

Sandra from TidyTime

One thought on “Freshen Up Your Notepad

Leave a Reply

