Do I HAVE To Get Rid of It?

get rid of it

When we’re assessing clutter prior to getting our organize-on, we almost always find that there are too many things being held onto. The initial reaction from most people is recoil to the suggestion of paring down some things.

We get it, we really really get it. Sentimental attachment to items can be very strong.  But when you’re working in a room of your house that desperately needs to be organized, consider that that space might not actually offer the amount of room you’d like to keep all those items. And when you start going through the items one by one, and consider the thought process below, you’ll likely find that you don’t actually need, or even want a lot of the things that have been taking up your precious space for so long.

In the 40’s and 50’s, people just didn’t have the amount of things we have now. They had the space that we have, but they chose not to use it like we do. There weren’t credit card companies advertising compelling and convincing you that you needed that vacation, that extra pair of shoes, that newer and more expensive car.  They offer you a way to get those items and subliminally allow you to not worry about the repercussions.  Obviously bad credit can be one of them, but an excess of “stuff”  is another very loud reality for a lot of us.

Credit cards is how a lot of this can happen, but so are massively discounted items (refer to a recent post on it here). Just a reminder to be aware of why you have the things you have. You might have only acquired them because they were a good price or there was a really great advertisement on them.

Take a look at this list to ask yourself, while you’re trying to decide how you can pare down the amount of things in a room; the first step to organizing:

Do I need this?

Is this something I use regularly?

If not, is this something I love?

Am I keeping it out of expectation?

Am I saving this just in case?

Do I have multiples of this?

Can I easily get another one should the need arise?

Could something else I own do the job?

Is this item worth the time or storage area?

Could I use this space for something else, more functional?

Where does it belong?

Do I have time to put it away immediately? If I wait, how long will it take me to stop procrastinating and put it away?

Go ahead and give this a shot, I know you’ll make some progress on your organizing project. Come back and let me know how you did when you’re done. And if you have any questions on it, feel free to hit me up!

Tidy on, soldiers!

Sandra from TidyTime

23 thoughts on “Do I HAVE To Get Rid of It?

    • Very cool that you’re working on that:) I hope it does help and I wish you, not luck, but focus on your project! You got this girl!
      Thanks for stopping by!

    • Slowly but surely, the truth shall set him free!! You can just blame it on me if it gets tense 😉
      So glad you stopped by!

  1. Happy SITS Day! I hope you have a great one!

    I hear you on the purging! It can be so hard, but I’m getting better at it. 🙂 Now if I could just get my hubby and kiddos on board. 😉 LOL

    I hope you will stop by and maybe link-up this post or any others you think will fit the theme to my Think Green link-up. You can link up anything “green”, spring, Easter, natural living, etc. I think this fits because when I think of spring, I think spring cleaning and this definitely would help with that! 🙂 If you don’t have time, I understand, but I hope to see you there!

    Have a great day!

    • Lists save my life, honestly. I feel so useless and unproductive without them. It’s because my memory is tiny 😦 I’m so glad you stopped by!

  2. Great questions! My husband and I have greatly reduced our ‘stuff’ this last year and these questions are definitely some of the things I thought of as I donated and trashed things. Happy SITS day!!

    • Oh that’s awesome! I bet you feel great about that:) Congratulations and thanks for the love! xoxo

    • Yes indeed! Proclaim war – I’ll go to battle with you any day. Actually that’s a totally relevant term for what it feels like sometimes. Good call, I’ll probably be using that term now!
      Thanks for hangin’ out:)

  3. Oh my gosh, this spoke to me – I am always thinking… I will hold on to this just in case! I just gave away a bunch of clothes that I would have never worn! I need to keep going though. You have inspired me! Thanks!

    • Suzanne that’s FABULOUS!! You should feel great 🙂 I’m so happy it spoke to you and we’re pumped you stopped by!

  4. Sandra, I’m hoping you’ll have some words of wisdom for my situation. For the past few years, I’ve been slowing getting rid of my baby stuff, as it is highly unlikely that I will ever be blessed with another child. It has been hard for me to let these things go, because I waited a very long time to become a mother, and would have loved to have had more children. Anyway, in the past year I have given away my pack&play and my beloved stroller. Well, yesterday my best friend called to tell me that she’s pregnant (at age 43!!!) and is getting married in 7 weeks. I will most likely be doing at least some childcare for her after her maternity leave, and the stroller and pack&play would have really come in handy for that. I know these items can be replaced, but there is an expense involved, and I loved my stroller so much that I really wish I still had it to use when I babysit for her child. I would love to hear your thoughts on this!

    • Hi Claire,
      I totally understand your predicament. There is no way that we can plan for everything in our future and when we do our best to organize and give things away that don’t seem practical anymore, once in a while, we may need those things again.
      Your approach was thoughtful and considerate, and honestly, I wouldn’t have done it any different. I, too, have mulled over whether or not to get rid of precious baby/child items, not knowing if I’d ever have another child one day.
      And so now, as I’m remarried and have donated my adorable and ergonomically friendly stroller, a magical baby swing that induced sleep almost instantly, along with my pack-n-play that was so cozy and sweet, I may have to consider investing in those items yet again.
      Only this time, if I can’t get a great deal with coupons and clearance items, or friends’ hand-me-downs, I’ll look to Craig’s List to replace only the necessary baby items that I’ve learned I can get by with.
      I would encourage you to try the same, but also ask around at mom’s groups, church groups, or perhaps even a local PTA to see if there are any mother’s who have outgrown their need for the items you’re looking for.
      My heart goes out to you with the emotional attachments, but I always try to remind myself that it’s the people in my life that matter and the memories I have, which I’ll always keep; not the items that used to be in close proximity to those people.
      I hope that helps Claire:)

      • Thank you Sandra, for a helpful response. It’s amazing how a neat-freak and non-hoarder like me still struggles with emotional attachment to objects.

      • Don’t feel bad Claire, we’re all emotional beings. Some attachments become stronger than others but we all form emotional attachments to things in our life. You’re not alone 🙂

Leave a Reply

