Dress Up Your Storage

I recently played with my office decor and added a few pieces of furniture for added storage. I realized that the tan and brown shallow baskets I had in my shelves were clashing with color scheme I had begun to set up.

*LIGHTBULB* Spray paint…a true Pinner’s friend. I’ve been on the spray paint bandwagon for a good year now and I suppose I’m guilty of finding excuses to spray paint things. Well this just happens to be a sparkling opportunity (pun intended).

Here is the basket that I started out with:

brown basket boring

I decided on silver metallic. Normally I wouldn’t go for such a “loud” option, but I had recently spray painted a lamp with Rustoleum Metallic and I was sold. So silver metallic it was:

rustoleum silverAfter three coats (2 looked good, but I wanted to be sure, in case the lighting was more unforgiving in my office than I had anticipated), I brought it back to the shelf. I placed a clear plastic shelf liner beneath the basket for two reasons: to protect the shelf from scratching, and as a temporary measure of ensuring the paint didn’t transfer to the shelf, in case I didn’t actually wait long enough. I’m super impatient.

shelf liner

I’ve since removed the shelf liner and love it, love it, love it. Β But wait, there’s more.

The same day that I placed this back on the shelf, I found a sliding shoe box that was basically begging me to be christmas tag and ribbon storage. I was all, “You don’t have to beg, our relationship is stronger than that”.

sliding shoe box

I took contact paper (I got mine from Wal-Mart, but you can order different styles on Amazon too) and the Rustoleum Metallic spray.

rustoleum silvercontact paper

I sprayed the “drawer” part of the shoe box and wrapped the rest of the box with the contact paper; just as you would if you were wrapping a present.

silver shoe box

So for the cost of a can of spray paint, I was able to improve the decor so that I didn’t gag everytime I looked at my shelves.

I now store binder clips and pin clips in reused candle jars and a diffuser that makes me happy. The dressy little shoebox now stores stationary accents, labels, and stickers.

I promise it’s easy to do and really hard to mess up. If you like the way it looks, or want to try a different color, go for it and let me know how you did! I love getting feedback on DIY tries!

Have a great Tuesday loves:)

Cheers,

Sandra from TidyTime

27 thoughts on “Dress Up Your Storage

  1. Paint transfer is something I just dealt with. Two folding chairs with vinyl seats were pressed against a wall. When I moved them to use, an awful sound of ripping tape ensued. Sure enough, paint from the wall (it was painted more than 20 years ago) had stuck on the chairs. It took three products to get rid of the paint without harming the chairs. Glad that you put something under your new shiny basket. Visiting from SITS.

    • Hey Sheila, so glad you stopped by! That is the WORST! So frustrating and sometimes, when the paint is older, there’s little hope of getting the new paint to match the color. Hopefully you were more successful than I’ve been on paint-matching mistakes:)
      Thanks again SITSta!

  2. Seriously, why, oh, why do I never remember spray paint? I always just get rid of it if it no longer looks right. Gotta stop doing that. I’ve also got to stop only thinking of spray painting after the weather goes south for the winter. Now it’s too cold. One of these days I’m going to get my act together. For real. I promise.

    Thanks for sharing. Your stuff looks great. Happy Sharefest. I hope you have a lovely weekend.

    • Hahah! That’s EXACTLY how I always approached things, until about a year ago. I finally drooled over enough Pinterest images that I decided to buy a few cans and just wait for the opportunity.
      I’m so glad you stopped by, love the SITSta love!
      Cheers πŸ™‚

    • Thanks girl πŸ™‚ I think it’s a great option for inside closets and under beds too! I love how fast and easy spray paint is πŸ™‚
      Thanks so much for stopping by!

  3. Such a creative idea! I have played a little bit with spray paint, and it is quite fun. I have to admit, my office needs some better organization. It’s a project I keep never getting to!

    • No worries, that’s what the new year is for! I’ve got loads of resolutions piling up πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by Stevie!

    • Ha! I feel called to create personalities for inanimate objects and declare conversations on their behalf. It helps me face reality…or hide from it? πŸ™‚

    • Absolutely! What would we have done if we were all born in the 1800s without spray paint 😦 ….that’s a sad thought for a Wednesday morning. It’s so easy too – I find myself looking for projects to spray paint these days πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by!

    • Thanks Nicole! It was my first actual furniture repurpose project and because it was so quick to complete, I’ll likely be trolling garage sales and garbage days for summer treasure πŸ˜›

  4. Pingback: It's Tidy Time - The SITS Girls

    • Oh, and what a friendship it will be… πŸ˜‰ I’m stoked for you to try it on something. If you’re anything like me, you’ll end up hunting out projects in your home to spray paint.
      Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Hello! I have been trying to leave the following comment on your under the bed storage post, but for some reason I’m not seeing it, so I’ve decided to try under this post to see if it makes a difference…

    I have some serious DIY envy going on here because I know damn well my drawers would not look like this β€” even after spending a week on this project. But you guys are awesome. Go β€˜head with your bad selves. I’ll be checking back in to live vicariously through you…

    Happy SITS Day!

    • Absolutely! About $3.50-$5 a can and WalMart and Home Depot always have a huge selection of colors. I’m so glad you stopped by πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: Dress up Your Dollar Store Bins | It's Tidy Time

Leave a Reply

