Holiday Gift Wrap Kick-Off!

gifts wrapped brown paper

As we enter November, the calendar’s opener to the upcoming gift fest that is winter, I decided it was time to talk presents. I love wrapping presents most, when it comes to holiday tasks.  There’s so much room to get creative and add your personality to the gift, without having to over-spend or pay someone else to do it.

My favorite wrapping paper, hands down, is regular old brown craft paper(postal paper/shipping paper).  You can get the Scotch brand, which is incredibly durable, here.  But heads up, I just saw it at the Dollar Tree for…drum-roll….$1.

This roll may not look like much on it’s own, but if you’re already a brown paper wrapper (not rapper), then you know how awesome this can be!  Some other favorite staples are twine, string, ribbon & buttons.  Here are some examples:

washi and paper wrapping

I wrapped this using brown paper wrapping, twine, a ribbon, and some washi tape! Don’t forget about your washi for the holidays, you wouldn’t want poor washi feeling neglected, would you?

brown paper and heartsThe Fab Guide shows that it looks fab to cut out paper shapes and string them on top of the brown paper as well. I’m thinking kid-art for this too!

harvest wrapOver at Roost Blog, we’re reminded that we can use some of natures outdoor gifts to dress up our holiday wrapping.  I love receiving gifts wrapped in that manner – it’s like there’s an added level of care, thought and emotion involved. ‘Lil treat from mother nature!

silhouette letter packaging

Use lettering for the giftee’s name or initials. If you have a Silhouette, put it to good use like they did here!

yarn wrap

Yarn is another great use for dressing up a gift at any time of year. You can even use scraps because it doesn’t take much to wrap around one time, and when you alternate colors, you can get away with much less yarn length per color 🙂  JOY!

bunting diy gift

Bunting to decorate a white or brown paper-wrapped gift is an incredibly adorable option as well. You can purchase bunting like this and you can also make it yourself.  At ilovegifting.com they show you how to DIY the bunting so you can cut that cost out.

sewn package

You can also take some brown or white wrapping and sew the edges for gifts that are a bit oddly shaped. I find this to be a fantastic solution rather than pulling my hair out trying to get clean lines on some ridiculous shaped toddler toy, for instance.

For birthday presents, a simple ribbon duo will do the trick:

birthday gift

paint chip bunting

Oh now this is just TOO clever and I wish I could take credit for it.  Alas, I’ll just copy http://www.thecraftyhostess.com ‘s genius.  But I’m really in love with the fact that you can do this for $0 since paint swatches are free ninety-nine.

One of my go-tos for wrapping paper purchasing, year round, is the Christmas Tree Shoppe, if you have one near you.  The wrapping paper is typically a sturdy weight with classy print or color options. So if you want to get away from brown paper for a break, this is an inexpensive and awesome alternative.

Another alternative to wrapping with brown paper on a roll, you can use a brown or white lunch bag and decorate in the same ways…as long as your present will fit in the bag!

use paper bags

Here are some items you can use with brown wrapping paper to dress it up, personalize it, or theme your fabulous presents:

  • Ribbon
  • Buttons
  • Twine
  • Washi tape
  • twigs
  • candy
  • fabric
  • bunting (handmade with paper and string)
  • charms
  • jingle bells
  • stamps
  • lettering (cut out initial(s) or use a silhouette if you have one!

What’s your favorite item to decorate you presents with?

Happy wrapping!

Sandra from TidyTime

14 thoughts on “Holiday Gift Wrap Kick-Off!

    • Aww thanks hun! Once I started using the stuff, I feel like I never want to go back..it’s so fun and every gift I wrap looks a bit different 🙂

  1. I LOVE this, so tasteful and festive and oh my gosh why am I so not crafty?! I agree with you about the plain brown paper wrap. The first example with the blue ribbon looks so gorgeous!

    • Well in that case, you’ll be pleased to know that that was the simplest to do of all! That took five minutes tops. Washi and ribbons make a great couple 🙂 Thanks for the love Katia:)

  2. This is my first comment as a co-host blogger but, I have to agree, I am a HUGE fan of brown-paper wrapping. It is completely versatile. Sandra- I’ve been using it since when, 6th grade? I still have my handmade rubber stamps. I’m about to bust them out for Christmas gifts (although I’m not quite sure I can trust my boys with them quite yet…perhaps I’ll let my delicate niecey give them a go this year – Yes, to your house they shall come). Nice post, seester!

    • Well gorsh! Yes, you’ve been using it for decades, and are the queen off the stamp! Put the kids to work this Christmas, no free lunches!

    • Thanks! And you’re right, there’s so much you can do with it..I’ve seen washi tape at WalMart and even the Dollar Tree, both for just $1! Shockingly, they’re decent quality, since I clearly couldn’t pass up trying them:) Let me know if you end up trying anything!
      Cheers!

  3. Fun ideas! One of our first Christmases together, my husband and I decided to save money and not buy wrapping paper, bows, etc. for our gifts to one another. The recycled twine and the dried rose he put on my package that year still graces our Christmas tree every year. Visiting from #SITSSharefest. 🙂

    • Aww that’s so fabulous! Rose AND twine…the ultimate in romantic Christmas charm. That adds so much to each Christmas, adding it to the tree…now that’s something I’m going to have to do:) so glad you stopped by SITSta!

  4. I am a bit of a paper/stationery junkie so I just had to stop in and check out your wrapping ideas. So hard to pick a favorite, but I really love the envelope with the sewn edges. I love to write letters and I think this could work for that too. Visiting on your very special SITS day.

    • You and me BOTH! I should actually do some more on organizing with stationary products-they’re a huge weakness of mine. I just love them-it reminds me of September back-to-school style reminiscing 🙂 So glad you stopped by!

Leave a Reply

