DIY Under-The-Bed Storage

I’ve been trying to get creative thinking of ways to produce more functional storage in our home. Thanks to Pinterest, I didn’t have to think very hard. So taking a hint from a pin I saw, I decided that re-purposed dresser drawers on casters(so you don’t scratch the floor pulling them out from the bed) would be a great call. I just might be able to do this for everyone’s beds.

Here’s what you need:

drawer ingredients

Casters: (Mine were $2.97 each at Home Depot. They’re the 1 1/2″ rubber wheeled casters. You don’t need heavy duty ones because your drawer isn’t likely storing gold bricks or condensed lead)

*Bonus*  instant wheels

These things are the easiest thing on the planet and they WILL stick. Alejandra.tv does a post on these and she also agrees they’re totally worth it.

Contact paper: (Any print will do, I picked up a roll from Wal-Mart, driven only by the clearance price of $3)

Sandpaper: (You’ll want a medium or fine grit. Anything between 120-150. Anything under 100 is considered a coarse grit)

Drawer Knobs(Hobby Lobby, Wal-Mart, Home Depot, Dollar Tree…the nicer ones will always be at Hobby Lobby but I picked up my plain nickel ones for $.99 each at Wal-Mart…NOT the pretty ones in the picture)

Drawers: Someone left their dresser and drawers at the side of the road for free99 so I was like, “I’m not above picking up their trash” and so my drawers cost me nothing but a 1/4 mile trip down the street.

I started off by lightly sanding the drawers, wiping down with a damp *lint free* cloth (you don’t want fuzzies in your paint) and then adding two coats of paint to the outside and inside of each drawer (except for the inside bottom-that will be covered in contact paper).

sanded drawers

After it dried, I measured the inside of the drawer to get dimensions for the contact paper. I screwed in the knobs and attached my casters, then, once my contact paper was cut to size, I laid that down inside the bottom of the drawer.

before and after drawer #storage

I plan to store bulky winter socks in one of these (it’ll be right under my bed so I don’t have to hit the cold wood floor before getting fluffy cozy socks on!) and work out clothes in the other.

Now that they’re done (the whole process, once I had all the items, took me about 15 minutes for both drawers per coat of paint and a few minutes to measure and cut the contact paper, a couple more minutes to lay it in, and several minutes for the casters-seconds if you get instant wheels.

Total Time: 40 minutes

Now that they’re done, I really want to do one for underneath my coffee table so that I can store my bulky winter blankets I love to cuddle with!

Go play and let me know how you do!

 

35 thoughts on “DIY Under-The-Bed Storage

  1. Pingback: Nearly Free Products I LOVE to Re-purpose | It's Tidy Time!

  2. Pingback: Under The Bed Cleanout | It's Tidy Time!

  3. Pingback: Storage On the Cheap | It's Tidy Time!

  4. I’m stunned by the simplicity of this! I’m not a DIY-er by any stretch but even I could manage this one. The caster are genius. Thanks ladies. Enjoy your SITS day!

    • My mother scoffed when I told her I did a DIY project (since I don’t have a track record of attempting much!), but then she saw how easy it was and understood 🙂 I’m so glad you stopped and thanks for the shout out!

  5. All right,ladies. (Insert big sigh here). I have some serious DIY envy going on here because I know damn well my drawers would not look like this — even after spending a week on this project. But you guys are awesome. Go ‘head with your bad selves. I’ll be checking back in to live vicariously through you…

    Happy SITS Day!

  6. I’ve seen this on Pinterest too, but my beds are too low for it to work. I love the idea of rolling one under a coffee table for linen storage!

    • That’s what most of my beds are like too. If it helps, I put my daughters twin bed on risers and it fits 🙂 But I almost like the drawer I used for the coffee table more…it seems cozy (maybe because I store cozy blankets in there!)

    • Get it Jody!! Woo-hoo:) If you end up doing it, let me know how it turns out!
      Thanks for hanging out today!

  7. I am SO doing this!! Thanks for sharing this great idea. I now feel justified in keeping all those drawers when hubby repurposed some old furniture! 🙂
    Enjoy your SITS day!

    • Oh I’m so glad! Give your husband a high five and ask him for some casters-:) Thanks for stopping by Maria!

  8. All right,ladies. (Insert big sigh here). I have some serious DIY envy going on here because I know damn well my drawers would not look like this — even after spending a week on this project. But you guys are awesome. Go ‘head with your bad selves. I’ll be checking back in to live vicariously through you…

    Happy SITS Day!

    • Aw you’re an angel! What kind words on a Wednesday(alliteration is fun too)! I’m so glad you stopped by 🙂

  9. This such an amazing idea and seems os easy to accomplish! I definitely have a lot of wasted space under my bed and something like this would be a perfect solution to my need for storage and a great way to make use of it. Thanks so much for sharing and I hope your SITSDAy was a great one!

    • Thanks Doll! I’m thinking about doing it again this season when people are setting their old dressers out again. I could use a couple more 😉 Cheers!

    • You’re so welcome Ronda! I’m pumped for you! If you complete, we’d love to hear about how it went for you. I also love seeing other colors and prints/hardware that people come up with 🙂

Leave a Reply

