A Truly Handy APP for Your Shopping List

Sometimes, I pass off grocery shopping to my opposite-pole. To me, he’s neither my worse nor my better half; He’s my equal, with a different slant on things.

One thing we are different about is how we handle a grocery list. When I write a list out on paper I, a) hold it tightly, b) cross things off as I go along, and c) tend not to lose the list.

Too many times I have sent my glorious and wonderful darling off to the store, only to have him return stating that he somehow “lost” the list. (HOW?! You have two pockets!)

After a while, I began snapping a pic of my hand-written lists with my phone, “just in case”. If he returned without the list, at least I wouldn’t have to rack my frazzled noggin to figure out which things we still needed. THEN, somebody wonderful came up with a glorious smartphone app called, “OurGroceries“.

You can even edit your lists at your desk.

You can even edit your list at your desk.
(Click the image to go to their website.)

There are many grocery and other shopping-list apps out there but, this one has stuck with me and works great. It’s customizable, the free version is fantastic, and its shareable.

I can add things while husbandpants is AT THE STORE, and he will see them updated instantly as he checks the list on his phone (all the while I can view what he has already checked off of our list). He may not think it’s nearly as amazing as I do but, he sticks to the program and now I rejoice over the fact that I no longer find myself tediously rewriting lists.

Linda (coming up with wonderful things in theKitchn.com) has some great things to say about it, too.

What do you think about shopping list apps?

Share, sort & categorize your grocery lists. YES, PLEASE!

Share, sort & categorize your grocery lists. YES, PLEASE!

There are built-in categories but, you can add your own. I once made one called, "MY FACE" and added "BOTOX" to the list. He didn't laugh.

There are built-in categories but, you can add your own; 
I made one called, “MY FACE” and added “BOTOX” to the list. (Got no laughs from my main man.)

OurGroceriesScreenshot1

Erin from Tidy Time

2 thoughts on “A Truly Handy APP for Your Shopping List

Leave a Reply

