Time to Lean

You may have heard the phrase, “If you’ve got time to lean, you’ve got time to clean.” Let’s just say, I pretty much LOATHE that phrase. It has stuck with me ever since it was introduced to me as a fast-food employee in my teenage years. Yup!Lean or Clean?

Now, as a busy and tired mama with a mind cluttered full of appointments and craving naps, the last thing I want to do is focus on my list of tasks, when all I REALLY want to do is huddle up and watch my neglected list of DVR’d shows, without interruption. However, here it comes, whispering in my ear, like an elvish little friend;  “Go down and throw that laundry in! Clear the table! The living room needs some attention!” So on I go, to tackle a few things, before I can reward myself with some R&R before settling in.

And guess what? I feel so much better afterwards! All that stuff is not weighing on my mind. I am not thinking about the little things on my list. They are DONE. I can check on the kids, read a book or a magazine, watch a show and RELAX. That’s right, relax. It’s time to lean. *YAWN*

Leave a comment