Re-purposing Candle Jars to Organize

Repurpose Candles Title Photo

I love candles, and although I’m not a candle hoarder or anything, I will get a set if they’re a good price and I’m running low. I also really love glassware. It’s clean, classy, never goes out of style, always matches everything…it’s pure love. Instead of buying glass containers to organize things, which can be pricey, I started re-purposing my empty candle jars to organize some items around my house, for instance;

  • Pens
  • Pencils
  • Binder Clips
  • Toothbrushes
  • Hairbrushes
  • Hair clips

CandleJarUsesCHEVRON

I know there are several methods out there, but my trusted method is the freezer. Here’s what you do:

candle step 1

Likely, there will be a little candle wax at the bottom of any jar.

candle jar step two

repurposecandlestep3The frozen wax will easily crack and just needs a little gentle working to get the wax pieces loosened.

repurpose candle step 4That is, if you have a label. If you don’t, consider your project awesome-you get to skip this step and the next step.

repurpose candle step 5It’s been shared with me that almost any oil will work to remove sticky residues. I have always used GooGone so it’s my go-to. If you have baby oil, vegetable oil, or vinegar, feel free to try those too.

repurposecandlestep6Wipe off the remaining residue with a paper towel (I junked up a tea towel in my rookie days, so I stick to paper towels or napkins now).

repurpose candle step 7This is the last step. As soon as you’re done wiping down the inside of the jar to remove any lingering wax, prepare yourself for sweet, glass beauty.

repurpose candle DONEAwesome! You can do this with any sized candle jar, obviously, just as long as it fits inside your freezer. But hey, if you’re from the NorthEast like we are, and have an XXXXL candle that just won’t fit into any freezer-take advantage of our lovely frigid winters and let the outdoors do the work for you.

I hope this helps and inspires you to find creative ways to reuse your candle jars. I’d love to hear what you do with them so feel free to share!

sandra signature

4 thoughts on “Re-purposing Candle Jars to Organize

  1. Pingback: Small Bathroom Solutions-Part I of II | It's Tidy Time!

  2. Pingback: Organize Your Makeup Brushes | It's Tidy Time!

  3. Pingback: Writing Utensil Separation Without the Anxiety | It's Tidy Time!

  4. Pingback: Organizing Under the Kitchen Sink | It's Tidy Time

Leave a Reply

